Foundation Stage Curriculum

Our Early Years Foundation Stage seeks to provide a secure foundation for all future learning, giving our children the skills to thrive and succeed with confidence and independence across the curriculum.

The Early Years Foundation Stage comprises of three Prime Areas and four Specific Areas.

Areas of Learning and Development

Prime Areas                                                                    Specific Areas
Personal, Social and Emotional Development               Literacy
Physical Development                                                       Maths
Communication and Language                                        Understanding the World
Expressive Arts and Design

At Acre Heads, each of the seven areas of learning are implemented through a combination of planned and child-initiated play opportunities within the indoor and outdoor provision. The Early Years Foundation Stage also embraces three Characteristics of Learning.

Characteristics of Effective Learning

Playing and exploring – engagement
Active learning – motivation
Creating and thinking critically – thinking

The Characteristics of Learning are at the heart of our Early Years Foundation Stage and are promoted to support children’s development into self-sufficient and confident learners. Our children are encouraged to use skills such as evaluating and reasoning within their learning and play, to collaborate and share thoughts and ideas with others, and to persevere when things get difficult.

Please click on the Video files below to see how we implement the areas of learning and development (please ensure your sound is on).

New Starters Information video.

Our areas of learning and development in action.