Acre Heads Primary School – Governors

Every school in the UK has a team of governors which is made up of parents, teachers and people from the local community. School governors are chosen by the existing governing body, by other parents from the school, or by other members of staff from the school.

Governors are appointed to help:

• Decide what is taught;
• Set standards of behaviour;
• Interview and select staff;
• Decide how the school budget is spent

Being a school governor can be a challenging and rewarding experience – the Governors are closely involved in making decisions about how the school is run, for example, working with the Headteacher to set targets for what the students should be achieving and deciding how the school will spend its money.

The Acre Heads Primary School full governing body normally meets once a term to receive reports from the Headteacher on the life and work of the school, and from other committees on the work they have been doing.

Termly committee meetings are also held when members of staff also report to governing body committees; these committee meetings usually take the form of an in-depth look at some aspect of the whole curriculum, but reports from the headteacher and staff on standard items such as Child Protection, Safeguarding, Premises issues, staffing and attendance are also received at these meetings.

 

Acre Heads Primary School – List of Governors

GovernorResponsibilityCategoryAppointing BodyAppointment DateAppointment endsCommittee
Mrs Rachel Pearson r.pearson@acreheads.eriding.netChair
Elected 12/12/17
Investors In Pupils
Co-optedGoverning Body13/11/201720/09/2021Personnel
Achievement
Safeguarding
Mrs Amy O'Sullivan a.osullivan@acreheads.eriding.netVice Chair
ParentGoverning Body13/12/201613/12/2020Achievement - Chair
Mr Graham Sitch welcome@acreheads.eriding.netTraining
Staff Voting HeadGoverning Body01/09/2018Duration of contractAchievement
Finance
Safeguarding
Personnel
Mrs Amy Winfield a.winfield@acreheads.eriding.netMaths
Geography
Local Authority Governing Body16/07/201916/07/2023Personnel
Safeguarding
Mr David Irvine d.irvine@acreheads.eriding.netScience
G&T / MA
Pupil Premium
Co-optedGoverning Body17/07/1217/07/20Personnel
Achievement
Miss Michaela Lines m.lines@acreheads.eriding.netSports Premium
Co-optedGoverning Body07/12/201507/12/2019Personnel
Finance
Mrs Joanne Spencer j.spencer@acreheads.eriding.netSafeguarding Governor SEND Sports PremiumCo-optedGoverning Body11/12/201811/12/2022Achievement
Safeguarding - chair
Mr Mike Reed m.reed@acreheads.eriding.netPhysical Education ComputingCo-optedGoverning Body11/12/201811/12/2022Finance - Chair
Mrs Claire Fewster c.fewster@acreheads.eriding.netPSHECo-optedGoverning Body11/12/201811/12/2022Safeguarding
Mrs Sarah Laidlaw s.laidlaw@acreheads.eriding.netMusic ArtParent GovernorGoverning Body11/12/201811/12/2022Personnel
Safeguarding
Mrs Angela Hare welcome@acreheads.eriding.netStaffStaff Delegated01/09/200531/08/2021Achievement
Finance
Personnel
Mrs Lesley Ringrose welcome@acreheads.eriding.netStaffAssociate Committee MemberN/AN/AFinance
Invited Committee Meeting Guest

Register of current pecuniary interests

GovernorPecuniary Interest Registered Governor elsewhere?Attendance
Mrs Rachel PearsonNoneNo100%
Mrs Amy O'Sullivan NoneNo100%
Mr Graham SitchNoneNo100%
Mrs Amy WinfieldNoneNo100%
Mr David IrvineNoneNo85%
Miss Michaela LinesNoneNo90%
Mr Mike ReedGeneral Manager of EFI Escada. Client base may include school stakeholders.No100%
Mrs Joanne SpencerNone THE CONSORTIUM ACADEMY TRUST Penshurst Primary School75%
Mrs Claire Fewster NoneNone100%
Mrs Sarah Laidlaw NoneNone100%
Mrs Angela Hare NoneNone100%
Mrs Lesley RingroseNoneLeconfield Primary School100%

LEGO meetings

The Governors have an important curiculum monitoring role which they manage primarily though holding regular LEGO (Leaders and Governors) meetings.

These meetings are held at least twice a year and enable the Governor to challenge, support and hold each subject leader to account for his or her work.

This monitoring feeds into School Development Planning, ensuring that Governors don’t just know what is happening in the classrooms, but also have a proportional amount of input into the provision offered by the teaching staff and the standards children achieve.